(212) 374-4100
See where the American dream began
and is still alive and well!
Home Tours & Events The Conservancy The Lower East Side Donate FAQs Blog Contact Us

Congregation Chasam Sopher

Congregation Chasam Sopher

Congregation Chasam Sopher

8 Clinton Street

The second oldest remaining synagogue building in New York, this handsome red brick structure was built in 1853 by Congregation Rodeph Sholem, a Reform congregation established in 1842 by German immigrants. They occupied the building for almost 50 years, then moved to the Upper West Side where they are still located.

Congregation Chasam Sopher (Seal of the Scribe) was founded by Polish Jews who purchased the building. It was named for the highly respected German scribe and Talmudic scholar Moshe Schreiber, whose surname means scribe in Yiddish. Hank Sopher, a descendent of the Chasam Sopher, spearheaded the Congregation's building campaign that resulted in a complete restoration from foundation to roof. The project took more than three years to complete and the building was rededicated in September 2006.

Historical photo of Congregation Chasam Sopher

Historical photo of Congregation Chasam Sopher

The congregation holds services every day of the year, led by Rabbi Azriel Siff.

 

 

Back To Site Listing

Home | Tours & Events | Education | Preservation | LES History | About Us | Community Links | FAQs | Contact Us
Private Custom Tours | Pay Online | Public Tours | News | Sacred Sites | Donate

Site Design by Pixel Marsala